Voting started at 7 a.m. local time at 10,720 polling stations across the country and is due to end at 10 p.m. local time in the closely-fought elections mainly between long-serving Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s Likud party and ex-army chief Benny Gantz’s newly formed party.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu voted at local polling station in Jerusalem alongside his wife Sara.